BE HAPPY, BE HEALTHY

Why don’t people get it! Sometimes I just want to hit them over the head and say, “what the hell are you doing with your life” and “why is it so hard for you to be happy, and be healthy”!

I know you go through lots of stages of life with different friends and relationships and hardships, and hopefully you are lucky enough to have someone to share your life with (I was lucky enough to marry my best friend, who is very patient and hard of hearing :). But I feel like I have changed over the past year, maybe out grown some people. I feel like I know what is important in life (and not just because my mom just died). I feel I have to stress to people to  BE HAPPY, BE HEALTHY, no excuses.  BE HAPPY- regardless of what job you have, or how much money you make, or what size dress you wear, or your marital status. You are the only one who can make yourself happy, so choose to be happy. BE HEALTHY- and this is the most important one to me right now. Eat healthy, eat organic, be responsible for what your food is made of. And not in a “you need to be a vegetarian” kinda way, but to just be more “food conscious”. No factory farming, no hormone enhanced meat, try to eat sustainably. All of this is really, really important. But don’t be afraid to eat the cheese fries with everything on it occasionally 🙂 Don’t drink too much. Everything in moderation, don’t let alcohol (or any drug for that matter) be such a huge part of your life, that it masks your true feelings or severely changes your personality. Even if you love beer, you don’t need to drink 12 in one night. And this is not a “my mom died from alcoholism ” thing. Just everything in moderation. SWEAT EVERYDAY-Work out, keep your heart healthy. Heart disease is the number one killer of all women. 267,000 women die each year from heart attacks, which kill six times as many women as breast cancer. Another 31, 837 women die each year of congestive heart failure, representing 62.6% of all heart failure deaths.- Women’s Heart Foundation

Not cancer, but heart disease. The leading cause of heart disease (besides family history) is stress,  your lifestyle and just not taking care of yourself in general. Take time for yourself, at least 2 hours a week. Read, take a bubble bath, but try to sweat, and keep that waistline small and blood pumping. Lift weights while you are watching So You Think You Can Dance 🙂 I don’t want to hear your excuses. Just take care of yourself!

I don’t know. I feel like a damned hippie sometimes and I want to have meaningful, important conversations about LIFE, but there is no one there. I have had a life list since I was 18 (you could say I am very goal oriented-hear that middle school principals?!). Things I want to do/accomplish/experience before I die. I am constantly trying to mark these things off my list. I look to it for inspiration, not just as all the things I haven’t done yet. Don’t make excuses for why you didn’t finish school, or start a blog, or start your own business.  If it is your passion, go for it. What  the hell are you really waiting for?! Yes it may be hard, yes it may take a pay cut for a while, but this is the only life you will have. Just BE HAPPY, BE HEALTHY! That is all 🙂
One response to this post.

  1. Posted by paula on June 15, 2010 at 6:13 pm

    Jamelyn, I had to send this stuff to my home email couldn’t pull the blog up at work. I was so excited to get these recipes. I look forward to reading you blogs and it has really made me want to change some things about myself. You are so right about so many things I fall right into the overweight, single feel sorry for myself crazy person. So as of this moment I am taking responsibility for my own happiness. Thanks for the pep talk. Love ya, Paula

    Reply

Leave a Reply

